Monday, November 1, 2010

IBMA 2010 - Fan Fest - Friday

Sometimes, in the pressure of keeping up-to-date on this blog, parts of some important events we attend fall through the cracks.  In addition to our trip along The Crooked Road and attending Art of Sound, I've been trying to get all the IBMA - WOB photos labeled and sent off.  That means going through all 4500+ images to label as many as I can as completely as possible.  Today I'm posting a selection of photos taken at the IBMA Fan Fest on Friday.  Because I work back stage and Irene works, too, there are too few pictures taken at the workshops, in the exhibition hall, in the Convention Center Hallways, and at after hours showcases.  Fan Fest is a large indoor festival featuring over twenty bands a day in short sets.  Bands volunteer their time and talent to benefit the IBMA Trust Fund, which provides support to needy musicians and others in the bluegrass industry.  One of the characteristics of Fan Fest is that producers Carl Jackson and Mark Newton are able to put together combinations of musicians that are either new and different or that recreate storied bands of the past. These exciting performances, and often the even more exciting interactions in the Green Room back stage, offer a special insight into the world of bluegrass and the people who inhabit it.  I won't be posting much text, but here are lots of pictures.

The Isaacs Opened Fan Fest

Sonia Isaacs

A Morning Set for LRB 
They had to get to Texas for a gig

Junior Sisk & Rambler's Choice
Note that Billy Hawks has returned on fiddle

Carl Jackson with Junior Sisk & Rambler's Choice
Billy Hawks, Jason Davis, Carl Jackson
Timmy Massey, Junior, Jason Tomlin

Mandolin Workshop
Cheryl White, Buck White, Alan Bibey, Roland White

Roland White

Audience for Mandolin Workshop

In the Hallways
The Boxcars

Larry Stephenson

Amy & Brandon Rickman

Junior Sisk & Lynn Morris

Balsam Range
Deserving nominee for Emerging Band 
Keep an eye on this band in 2011.

Buddy Melton - Balsam Range

Summertown Road
Greatly improved with the addtion of
Steve Thomas and Elmer Burchett

Elmer Burchett & Randy Thomas
Summertown Road
Summertown Road 
Ken Irwin and Baxter Black (famous vet and NPR commentator)

Alan Bibey - Grasstowne
Grasstowne has also made huge strides with the addtion of
Adam Haynes and Justin Jenkins.


Justin Jenkins - Grasstowne
Rachel Renee Johnson
New Fiddler for Darin & Brooke Aldridge

The Nurses - Sheila and Joan with Anette Kelly

Darin & Brooke Aldridge
Darin, Brooke, Rachel Renee Johnson, Eddie Biggerstaff

Darin Aldridge

Brooke Aldridge

Grasstowne at their Merch Table

Phil Leadbetter & J.D. Crowe in the Green Room

The Cleverlys
Funny, innovative band that comes near steeping over the 
edge of good taste, but never quite crosses it. Refreshing!

Vernon Dean - The Ceverlys

Digger and Miles - The Cleverlys

Tim Shelton - New Found Road

Joe Booher - New Found Road

Larry Stephenson with Darrin Vincent and Jamie Dailey
Larry received a well-deserved IBMA Award for
Recorded Event of the Year - Talk to Me Lonesome Heart

Larry Stephenson and Connie Smith

Missy Raines & Connie Smith - Back Stage

Tony Wray - Mike Snider

Mike Snyder
We'd never heard Snider before...truly funny!

Ron Stewart - The Boxcars

Adam Steffey - The Boxcars
Adam should look happy. He's got a great band.

Keith Garrett - The Boxcars

John Bowman - The Boxcars

The Boxcars

J.D. Crowe and the New South at their Merch Table

Joan and Pete Wernick at their Merch Table

Jamie Dailey & Darin Vincent

Dailey & Vincent Acapela Quartet
Jeff Parker, Jamie Dailey, Darin Vincent, Christian Davis

Irene & Mary - Volunteers in the Green Room

Paul Williams and Doyle Lawson - In the Green Room

Paul Williams, Doyle Lawson, J.D. Crowe

Ron Stewart, Pete Kuykendall, J.D. Crowe 
in the Green Room


The SteelDrivers

Tom Adams - Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
 Tom has resurrected his career as a rhythm guitarist,
singer, and band emcee for Mike

Mike Cleveland
IBMA Fiddle Player of the Year for the 8th time
Instrumental Group of the Year for the 4th straight time

Jesse Brock - Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper

Marshall Willborn - Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
IBMA Bass Player of the Year for the 2nd straight time

Jaelee Roberts - It's been a loooong day!

Kristin Scott Benson - The Grascals
IBMA Banjo Player of the Year for the 3rd consecutive year

The Terrys - Smith and Eldredge - The Grascals

 After Hours Shocases
In the Hallways
Still think bluegrass is getting too old?

Flamekeeper Warming up in the Green Room

The Convention Hall