Wednesday, October 3, 2012

IBMA W of B 2012 - Awards

The IBMA Awards are actually two events, the Special Awards Luncheon held beginning at 10:30 in the morning, and the gala Bluegrass Music Awards in the Ryman Auditorium that evening. While the big awards for performers garner the publicity and excite the imagination, many members enjoy the awards luncheon, filled with nostalgia, warm memories, and introducing careers and achievements that underlie the success that performers experience. If you can attend this event without shedding a tear of joy or a moment of sadness, you're mighty strong or very resistant. Here are the winners and some of the presenters.

IBMA President Stan Zdonik Opens the Event

Kimberly Williams 
Leadership Bluegrass 2012
Introducing the 2012 Class

Distinguished Achievement Award
Joe & Lil Cornett - Gettysburg Bluegrass Festival
Presented by Tom Gray

Joe Cornett

The Joe & Lil Cornett were owners of Granite Hill Campground and Promoters of the Gettysburg Bluegrass Festival in Gettysburg, PA for thirty years. It is one of the most distinguished and long-lasting major bluegrass festivals in the country.
 Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project
Marian Leighton Levy
Tony Rice: The Bill Monroe Collection
Rounder Records

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project
Bedrock Manufacturing
Nobody Knows You, The Steep Canyon Rangers
Rounder Records 

Michael Martin Murphy - Presenter

Distinguished Achievement Award
Orin Friesen 

Producer of the first ten IBMA award shows and first IBMA Broadcaster of the Year, Orin Friesen is a long time DJ and producer at KDFI in Wichita, Kansas. He serves as host of one of the longest running bluegrass radio shows in the nation.

Jon Weisberger - Presenter

Frank Godbey Accepting
Print Media Person of the Year
The Late Marty Godbey, Author
Crowe on the Banjo: The Music Life of J.D. Crowe
University of Illinois Press 

Sam Bush - Presenter

Distinguished Achievement Award
Byron Berline 

Byron Berline is a renowned fiddle player born in Caldwell, Kansas and known as a pioneer of Texas style fiddling, although he is known for his ability to play in a variety of styles. He was a Blue Grass Boy with Bill Monroe and played with the Flying Burrito Brothers, and many other bands, including several of his own. He owns and operates the Double Stop Fiddle Shop in Guthrie, Oklahoma.

 Cindy Baucom - Presenter

Broadcaster of the Year
Kyle Cantrell 

Sharon Skaggs - Presenter

 Distinguished Achievement Award
Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert (1924 - 1965)
Accepted by his Widow Hazel Lambert

Pee Wee Lambert was born in southwest Virginia's Dickensen County and played mandolin for the Stanley Brothers. He was a great admirer of Bill Monroe, dressing and singing like him. Influential in bluegrass music despite having departed early. 

The Lambert Family

Gabrielle Gray - Promoter
Executive Director of the
International Bluegrass Music Museum
Event of the Year - ROMP 

Carl Jackson - Presenter

Songwriter of the Year 
Jon Weisberger 

Katy Daley - Presenter

 Distinguished Achievment Award
Kitsy Kuykendall

Kitsy Kuykendall, known to one and all as The Queen of Bluegrass, has been associated with IBMA since the beginning. She has served on the Board and acted as producer of Fan Fest for many years. She has served on the Board of the Bluegrass Music Museum and as its Chairperson, as well as the Bluegrass Music Foundation.  Her wit, humor, and good heart are known to all who have ever known her.

Red Carpet and Award Show Reception
John Lawless Interviews Mark Johnson and Steve Martin
Mark is the Recipient of the Martin Award 
For Excellence in Banjo

 Katy Daley Interviews Russell Moore
Members of IIIrd Tyme Out

Katy Daley Interviews
The Darin & Brooke Aldridge Band 

B.J. and Skip Cherryholmes

Steve Johnson

The DL & Q Boys with Rachel Rogers

Junior & Susan Sisk

The Edgar Loudermilk Family
23rd Annual Bluegrass Music Awards
Ryman Auditorium
IBMA President Stan Zdonik Opens the Event

The Famous (Infamous) Teleprompter

Co-Hosts - Del McCoury & Laurie Lewis

Vocal Group of the Year
Blue Highway 

Dobro Player of the Year
Rob Ickes 

Musical Performance
Pam Tillis & Dale Ann Bradley 

J.D. Crowe & Kristin Scott Benson - Presenters

Instrumental Performance of the Year
Lonesome River Band
Angeline the Baker
Rural Rhythm Records

 Fiddle Player of the Year
Stuart Duncan

 Musical Performance
The Gibson Brothers
"They Call It Music"
Leigh Gibson

Eric Gibson 

Della Mae - Presenters

Male Vocalist of the Year
Russell Moore 

Banjo Player of the Year
Sammy Shelor 

Musical Performance
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Female Vocalist of the Year
Dale Ann Bradley

Guitar Player of the Year
Doc Watson

Musical Performance
Steve Martin & the Steep Canyon Rangers
Graham Sharp

Mike Guggino & Woody Platt

Steve Martin

Nicky Sanders

Byron Berline & Jeremy Garrett - Presenters

Instrumental Group of the Year
The Boxcars 

Mandolin Player of the Year
Adam Steffey

Musical Performance 
Special Consensus & Guests
Greg Cahill, Bobby Hicks, Sam Bush

Chris Jones & Josh Williams

Dustin Benson
Hall of Fame Induction
 Eddie Stubbs - Presenter

Doyle Lawson - Inductee

Musical Performance
The Boxcars 

Eddie & Martha Adcock - Presenters

Recorded Event of the Year
"Life Goes On"
Various Artists - Rural Rhythm Records 

Bass Player of the Year
Marshall Wilborn

Musical Performance 
Blue Highway
Rob Ickes

Wayne Taylor & Tim Stafford

Shawn Lane

Jason Burleson

Hall of Fame Induction 
Ralph Rinzler
1934 - 1994

Musical Performance 
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Claire Lynch & Chris Pandolfi - Presenters

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year
"Singing As We Rise"
The Gibson Brothers with Ricky Skaggs
Joe Newberry (writer) & Leigh Gibson 

Eric Gibson

Song of the Year
"A Far Cry from Lester & Earl"
Junior Sisk, Rick Pardue, Timmy Massey 

Musical Performance
IIIrd Tyme Out
Russell Moore & Edgar Loudermilk

 Justin Haynes & Steve Dilling

Wayne Benson

 Ricky Wasson, Ronnie Bowman, Larry Cordle
Carl Jackson, Jerry Salley - Presenters 

 Emerging Artist of the Year
Joe Mullins

Album of the Year
The Heart of a Song
Junior Sisk & Rambler's Choice
Rebel Records

Musical Performance
Dailey & Vincent
Darrin Vincent

Kitsy Kuykendall & Sam Bush - Presenters

Entertainer of the Year
The Gibson Brothers 
Eric & Leigh Gibson

 Eric Gibson, Mike Barber, Joe Walsh, Clayton Campbell

 Tribute to Earl Scruggs - Finale
Steve Martin - Introduction

 Happy Fan